Squat: 82.5 kg

I’ve been busy lately. Instead of trying to catch up when missing a workout, I’ve decided to stick to Monday, Wednesday and Friday, and allow for missed workouts. So in practice, I’ll get two workouts per week on average. Last week, I only got one. I’ve noticed before that whenever I’ve had a full week off, I need all the will-power I can muster to do the next workout. Doubts creep in. Am I really ready for another personal best? Should I deload? And I start looking for excuses. But I had slept well, eaten well and was mentally prepared, so I had no excuses:

  • Squat: 82.5 kg × 5, 5, 5
  • Bench Press: 55 kg × 5, 5, 5
  • Deadlift: 92.5 kg × 5

I keep improving my personal best in squat. I’ve been wondering about my form, and in particular whether my back is straight when squatting. So today I filmed a set, and the straightness of the back looks okay. What does not look okay is my body. I lift for strength, not for looks, but seeing myself on video was painful. There’s actually a big difference seeing myself in the mirror and on video. I need a lot more upper body work. Bench and press are not enough.

I did an extra rep in the last squat work set. It’s a mental trick I do sometimes, to feel more prepared for next workout. The 92.5 kg deadlift is touching my personal best. It was almost a year since I lifted this heavy, and I really look forward to beat my record next time.

Leave a comment