Discovering new levels of strength

I did it!

  • Squat: 90 kg × 5, 5, 5
  • Bench press: 60 kg × 5, 5, 5
  • Deadlift: 100 kg × 5

In this workout, several milestones congregated. Apart from the even numbers in each exercise, this is the first time I lift 100 kg and the first time I squat more than my bodyweight.

It’s a personal victory to reach 100 kg of course. I got 135 kg of weights at my disposal, including the barbell. I was in my early twenties when I bought this set. Back then, I didn’t imagine I would have much use of the 20 kg plates, and I would certainly not have anticipated lifting 100 kg ever in my life. And now I did it. 5 times. 🙂 Maybe 135 kg is reachable too?

Again, I did the sets of squat with a slim margin. The barbell moves slowly and I grind my way up. Form is fair, I suppose, except that the bar often tilts somewhat to the right. I seem to be getting stronger with every workout, because the percieved intensity remains the same (it has been at “fucking heavy” for a week now) while the weight increases.

I’ve attempted 60 kg in bench press at least twice before but never completed 3 sets of 5. I think I’m better equipped at improving the bench press further now. 60 kg will become a new baseline.

The 100 kg deadlift has been on my mind for months now. I knew I could do it. It was heavy, and the last set wasn’t perfect. My grip was slipping, but judging from the speed, I didn’t max out. The set was completed while listening loudly to Pressure and Time by Rival Sons.

Leave a comment