Deloading

I’ve had back pain after my 100 kg deadlift set two days ago. It may have happened in the last rep, when I accidentally curved my back a bit. I didn’t feel any pain at the time, and the pain after has been spread out rather than being concentrated to a small area (both of these are probably good signs). So, what now? Should I rest, continue as usual, or something in between? I took the middle way:

  • Squat: 72.5 kg × 5, 5, 5
  • Press: 30 kg × 5, 5, 10
  • Deadlift: 80 kg × 5

These are 20% reductions from my PRs, which in hindsight was too much on the safe side, but better safe than sorry. Since the weights were fairly easy, I focused on keeping really good form, to avoid further injury and to strengthen the damaged muscles. The plan is to increase the weights back to my PR in a few workouts now.

Leave a comment