Squat: 87.5 kg

I’m happy to announce three new PRs!

  • Squat: 87.5 kg × 5, 5, 5
  • Bench press: 58.5 kg × 5, 5, 5
  • Deadlift: 97.5 kg × 5

Two things clicked for me during this workout. First, I realized that I’m probably leaning forward too much during the squats. If I try to raise my butt up first as one should, my balance tends to shift too much forward, so I should sit back more on the way down. I tried to apply this in today’s workout but 87.5 kg is so damn heavy that all my focus was on finishing the set in any way possible. Form is less than ideal at this weight. Before I deload, I want to see if more frequent workouts can help.

I worried about the bench press before, but it was much more manageable today. Not at all the close call on the last rep like last time. A few explanations why:

  • I had two arm workouts during the week-end
  • I took longer pauses between sets. Longer pauses is something I have to get used to now. Even 5 minutes may not be enough.
  • I took a few very deep breaths before the sets. It seems to help if the blood is well-oxygenated before heavy lifts. This one was the other click moment.

The deadlift set was heavy but manageable. If I can do two more workouts this week, I’ll be lifting 100 kg on Friday!

Leave a comment