Speeding up and slowing down

This was the highest intensity workout for me in a long long time, if not ever. Every set was like a hill to climb.

  • Squat: 88.5 kg × 5, 5, 5
  • Press: 37.5 kg × 5, 5, 5
  • Deadlift: 98.5 kg × 6

I’m surprised again that I can still complete the sets. The barbell moves more slowly now than only 2 weeks ago, but it’s moving. I also take longer pauses between sets and reps. So, while I have added weights faster recently, I’m doing the actual lifts more slowly. Perhaps I’ll soon need time for consolidation, by sticking to the same weight for a while or increase it with even smaller increments (0.5 kg).

Nothing much to say about the squat – it was just brutally heavy but somehow doable.

The press is perhaps the greatest achievement today. I had not even expected to complete the last set. I still feel some pain the my right shoulder as I press, and hope it will not get worse. The shifting of the collar bone is still present too at weights above 30 kg.

The deadlift was slower than ever, but I felt I had more to give. So I gave it an extra rep.

Leave a comment