Squat: 85 kg

I had trouble sleeping last Thursday night and skipped the Friday workout, so the wait for this workout was longer than expected. Again, I had to force myself to get started today. But the result is two new PRs and one touched PR:

  • Squat: 85 kg × 5, 5, 5
  • Bench press: 57.5 kg × 5, 5, 5
  • Deadlift: 95 kg × 5

I was most worried about the squat. The last warmup weight was 70 kg (for 2 reps), so the increase to 85 kg was steep as hell! But the second and third sets felt easier than the first, and I did an extra rep in the third as usual. Overall very heavy but still managable.

In the bench press, I had to use everything I got on the last rep. I will try 58.5 kg next time, but I won’t be surprised if I get stuck below 60 kg again, like last year. Not sure yet what to do about it. I also feel some minor pain in my right shoulder. I hope it will disappear with more training.

The deadlift was fun as usual. The warmups felt easier than ever, and the 95 kg workset was managable. I did an extra rep at 96 kg just for fun. I don’t expect any difficulties with raising the deadlift up to 100 kg. It has become a tradition to listen to Rammstein’s Mein Teil as I do the workset.

Leave a comment